California to increase smoking age from 18 to 21 years this Thursday

California to increase smoking age from 18 to 21 years this Thursday

California’s new law designed to increase the minimum age to buy tobacco products from 18 years to 21 years is all set to take effect this Thursday, June 9, 2016.

With the implementation of the new law, which aims to curb the growing problem of smoking, California will become the second state in the United States after Hawaii to have a minimum age requirement of 21 years to purchase cigarettes or other tobacco products.

State Sen. Ed Hernandez, who authored the bill that was later signed by the governor into law, said he was very excited about it. He expressed hope that the new law would result in “significant drop” in smoking.

Speaking about the new law, the Democratic senator, said, “I think California is taking a leadership role in curbing tobacco use and tobacco products. Hopefully, all states in the United States will eventually move to 21 and reduce smoking even more.”

According to the Institute of Medicine’s estimate, if all states required a minimum age of 21 years to purchase tobacco, it would result in a decline of 12 per cent in smokers.

The Golden State has also enacted another new law that would ban the use of e-cigarettes in public places, such as restaurants, schools and hospitals. The Smoke-Free Alternatives Trade Association, a lobbying group for vapor products, is opposing this new law because it will reclassify all e-cigarette and vapor products as traditional tobacco products.